What You Should Know About DUI

So You Got A DUI. Now What?

If you have been accused of driving under the influence, you probably have questions. At Hagen Law Offices, LLC, we often hear from our clients wondering things like whether their DUI is a felony, the effect that a DUI will have on their license and more. You do not have to wait until the trial to find out: An experienced DUI defense lawyer like our founder, Mark Hagen, can offer his insight.

Common DUI FAQs

We have helped many clients with their DUI cases. They bring questions and concerns, which we are happy to help answer and calm. These questions and concerns include:

Is my DUI a felony? In Kansas, a DUI is a felony if it is your third offense or depending on the severity of the incident.

What is the blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Kansas? The BAC limit is .08 percent for those over the age of 21 and .02 percent for an underage person.

Will I lose my license? This depends on the specifics of the incident, but people often face license suspension or revocation.

Can I get a DUI if I was not above the legal limit? Though it is more difficult to prosecute, it is possible to receive a DUI if your BAC is not above the legal limit. If the prosecution can prove that your faculties were impaired enough to be dangerous, you can be charged with DUI.

What if this is my first offense? A first-offense DUI can still incur fines of up to $1,000 as well as potential jail time.

No matter your situation, an experienced attorney can fight your drunk driving charge. This can not only protect you from fines or jail time, but also potentially save your driving record from a mark.

Get The Information You Need

If you or a loved one is facing a DUI, you are facing something potentially serious. Get your questions answered by a professional with decades of experience. To arrange a meeting with Mr. Hagen, call our Overland Park office at 913-624-3658 or reach out through our online contact form.